European Countries Block Travel From the UK

A number of European countries have imposed restrictions on travel from the UK in an attempt to stop the spread of the mutated strain of Covid 19.

France has banned the inward travel of all accompanied freight. Eurotunnel has suspended access to the Channel Tunnel at Folkestone and the Port of Dover has suspended sailings to France.

In addition to France, Germany, Ireland, the Netherlands, Austria, Italy, Romania, Bulgaria and Belgium have all imposed restrictions on travel with the UK, including flights, for an initial period of 48 hours from 23:00 UK time on Sunday 20th December.

The ban on traffic entering France from the UK is likely to have a significant impact on supply chains, because, although freight may still travel to the UK, it is believed unlikely that mainland European lorry drivers will wish to travel if unable to return home for Christmas.

17 views0 comments